Refining in Europe? It’s cheaper to import.

Roger Helmer MEP

Yesterday I attended a presentation in Strasbourg on the state of the refinery industry in Europe, delivered by a major player in European Refining. It raised some major issues, and confronted MEPs with the very serious consequences of some of their decisions.  I like refineries: I have an atavistic recollection of the oil refinery at Fawley in Hampshire (pictured).  As a child, I lived in Southampton, and I well recall many times visiting the New Forest and seeing the flare-off flames at the Fawley refinery.

For a long time now, I’ve been repeating a mantra with which regular readers will be all too familiar: “High energy prices are driving energy intensive businesses out of the EU altogether, taking their jobs, their investments and their tax revenues with them”.

When I repeat this phrase, I’m thinking of metals, paper and pulp, glass, chemicals, cement – the usual list of energy-intensive businesses. …

View original post 436 more words

Leave a Reply

