New Fraud Scam Alert

police

I get regular emails from my local Neighbourhood Watch coordinator about new scams and police alerts. Some of them are things I’ve heard about before but this is a new scam that I thought worth passing on;

Awareness of potential Scam.

This morning I collected a “signed for” letter from the sorting office. It had been addressed “to occupier” but had full postal address including postcode. The envelope contained a page from the Argos catalogue and nothing else. My concern having signed for this letter is that whoever sent it has tracked the letter and can view my surname and signature online.

I have reported this to the Action Fraud helpline but as no fraud has been committed they will not make a report. They suggested I register my details with a company called SciFast who can put a protective warning on my credit report so scammers would be unable to commit fraud. They also suggested I get the post person to make sure letters are pushed right inside the letter box as opportunists can pluck mail that is it pushed through fully.

Can you please circulate the details to the members of your Watch if you think it will be of value.

Any suspicious incidents should be reported to the police on 101 or 999.

Leave a Reply

